Patiently compiled Super-8 images were edited according to the passionate pattern of ‘Music for 18 Musicians’ by Steve Reich. Starting from the image of an eye in close-up, ‘Lens’ presents a kaleidoscope and subjective representation of nature, the city and mankind. A woman is looking out of the window of a train, rails and electric poles keep flashing by, and landscapes appear and disappear in the horizon: those are the recurring scenes which constitute the leitmotiv of the film. Just like Steve Reich’s composition the images evolve into a hypnotic whole of warm pulses with a melancholy and nostalgic overtone, amplified by the lively chroma, the coarse grain and the authentic atmosphere inherent to the Super-8 format. Images that one could associate with a variation in timbres, sounds and rhythms, simultaneously energetic and musing are woven together into an interlacement of impressions.

This work has been digitised in the frame of DCA Project

  • Formaat S8(super 8 mm)
  • Kleursysteem PAL
  • Kleur col. and b&w
  • Jaar 2002
  • Duur 00:26:10
  • Kunstenaars